CALL TO ACTION OPPOSE HB 2583 – Residential Rent Control Scheduled for Public Hearing Tuesday, January 23 at 10:00 a.m.

HB 2583, concerning local authority to address affordable housing needs through regulation of rent and associated charges, is scheduled for a public hearing onTuesday, January 23 at 10:00 a.m. in the House Judiciary Committee in the John L. O’Brien Building Room A. 

We need you to come to Olympia and testify in opposition of HB 2583.

This bill allows local cities and counties to allow rent control on rented/leased residential properties (single family homes, apartments and manufactured housing communities).  It repeals the 1981 state preemption against rent control and allows cities to regulate your rent in any way that they would like.

We also need you to do some grassroots and contact your 2 House Members and the members of the House Judiciary Committee in OPPOSITION of HB 2583.  If you do not know who your two house members are, you can locate them at:  http://app.leg.wa.gov/districtfinder

The House Judiciary members include:

Name District Party Phone Email
Roger Goodman 45 D (360) 786-7878 Roger.Goodman@leg.wa.gov
Paul Graves, Asst Ranking Minority 5 R (360) 786-7876 Paul.Graves@leg.wa.gov
Larry Haler 8 R (360) 786-7986 Larry.Haler@leg.wa.gov
Drew Hansen 23 D (360) 786-7842 Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov
Laurie Jinkins, Chair 27 D (360) 786-7930 Laurie.Jinkins@leg.wa.gov
Christine Kilduff, Vice Chair 28 D (360) 786-7958 Christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.gov
Steve Kirby 29 D (360) 786-7996 Steve.Kirby@leg.wa.gov
Brad Klippert 8 R (360) 786-7882 Brad.Klippert@leg.wa.gov
Dick Muri 28 R (360) 786-7890 Dick.Muri@leg.wa.gov
Tina Orwall 33 D (360) 786-7834 Tina.Orwall@leg.wa.gov
Jay Rodne, Ranking Minority Member 5 R (360) 786-7852 Jay.Rodne@leg.wa.gov
Matt Shea 4 R (360) 786-7984 Matt.Shea@leg.wa.gov
Javier Valdez 46 D (360) 786-7818 Javier.Valdez@leg.wa.gov

 

Attached are also contact information for all the House members and a factsheet on opposing rent control.

Please ACT right away!

Please let me know who will be coming to Olympia to testifying in opposition of HB 2583.

Please place this notice on our website and forward this information to all of our members.

Judiciary
1/23/18 10:00 am

House Full Committee
House Hearing Rm A
John L. O’Brien Building
Olympia, WA

Public Hearing:

  1. HB 2583 – Concerning local authority to address affordable housing needs through regulation of rent and associated charges.
  2. HB 2578 – Preserving and expanding rental housing options for persons whose source of income is derived from or includes sources other than employment.
  3. HB 2475 – Concerning the tolling of construction defect claims.
  4. HB 2537 – Regarding foreclosure and distraint sales of manufactured/mobile or park model homes.
  5. HB 2544 – Requiring property sold in tax lien foreclosure proceedings to be sold as is.

Thank you in advance.

Many thanks.
                                                                                      
Mark Gjurasic
Public Affairs of Washington, LLC
mgjurasic@comcast.net
(360) 481-6000

Please click the links below for additional information:

OPPOSE Rent Control HB 2583 & SB 6400 (1)

2018 House Member Contact Information

2018-House-Judiciary-Committee-Members